The Project That Never Ends

Do you know how when you start a project, you have in mind this wonderful picture of how it will look at the end? But then you get stuck in the middle of it, and it feels like quicksand, all disgusting and messy and NEVERending, and you just want to scramble out, escape, and never look at it again?

That is where I am right now.

I started a large nonfiction project, a book about the realities of making a living as a children’s writer. It’s a collection of tips, how-tos, basic information, ideas, and anecdotes. It is sprawling. And it is really a challenge to figure out the structure and corral all the correct information into the proper little parts of the book.

I am finding myself conveniently distracted by so many other shiny new stories I want to work on! I long to ditch this neverending project. With my daughter home visiting, and life extra busy–as it gets during the summer, I just don’t want to mess with it.

Luckily, I am stubborn. So I will continue the slog. I am determined to complete the first draft this week. (Sadly, this is not the first time I have said this.) Wish me luck!

I hope your writing right now feels more like a party than like quicksand. And if it does feel like quicksand, well, maybe we can virtually meet up for a Diet Coke together and cheer each other on. We can do it! Right?

About Laura Purdie Salas

children's writer, poet, reader, visiting author, speaker/teacher, mentor, copyeditor, freelance writer
This entry was posted in Networking. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Project That Never Ends

  1. Marilyn Garcia says:

    Selfishly, I hope you keep slogging away on this project. I will be the first one to buy it when it’s done!

  2. carolegerber says:

    Keep on slogging, Laura, but cut yourself a bit of slack when you can. I bought your book about writing in rhyme and found it incredibly insightful and useful. I will be the second of the list – after Marilyn Garcia 🙂 – to buy the second one!

Leave a Reply

