Your Jacket Flap Author Bio

With each new book, I update my author bio for the book flap a little bit to connect with the book itself. To help readers see how I actually fit in with the topic or theme of the book. For If You Were the Moon, here was my bio:

Laura Purdie Salas is the author of more than 125 poetry and nonfiction books for kids. Her titles include Water Can Be . . . , A Rock Can Be . . . , and Bookspeak! Poems about Books. She grew up with a dad who worked for NASA, so conversations about the moon and space happened daily. Laura and her family live in Minnesota, where Laura watches the full moon shimmer on Lake Superior, hang high over cliffs, or dip low and golden into her neighborhood. http://www.laurasalas.com

This morning, I need to update my flap bio for my 2018 Millbrook book, Meet My Family! It is all about baby animals (yay!) and their different kinds of families. Who takes care of them? How do they interact? It’s an ode to diversity in families as well as a roundup of the specific family structures of various species.

So…I’m figuring out how to work in my hardworking mom and dad, bossy but nurturing big sisters, supportive and funny husband, and two great daughters. I also might share the fact that I grew up not knowing my extended family at all. Do I have cousins? I met one, one single time. Living aunts and uncles? Don’t know. Of course, while sharing this information, I also need to keep it under 100 words, so we’ll see what fits!

About Laura Purdie Salas

children's writer, poet, reader, visiting author, speaker/teacher, mentor, copyeditor, freelance writer
This entry was posted in Getting Published and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

