New Editions of Writing for the Educational Market!

Whew! I am happy to announce that I have just finished an updated edition of Writing for the Educational Market: Informational Books for Kids (both the Kindle and paperback versions). Several readers had emailed me over the past year about links that no longer worked–which, of course, is the downside of including urls in a book. But this book is basically a textbook/workbook–the book version of the course I used to teach on writing for the educational market, and I wanted it to be as easy to use as possible. Click. Site. Etc.

I finally decided to update the book. The market itself and the way a writer breaks in and gets work really hasn’t changed. But in addition to taking care of links (by removing most of them and instead directing readers to a page on my website with all the links, which I can easily update/remove when necessary), I also wanted to update some examples to more current books and resources.

The bad news is that it was a pain! I thought it would just be a pretty quick and easy thing, but of course it ended up being more complex than I anticipated. I put my other book for writers (about making a living) on hold in order to take care of this update first.

The good news is that I’m finished! Yay!

I’ve asked Amazon to notify Kindle buyers of the book that they can download the updated version. Fingers crossed that they do that and let past buyers download the updated content for free!

About Laura Purdie Salas

children's writer, poet, reader, visiting author, speaker/teacher, mentor, copyeditor, freelance writer
This entry was posted in Getting Published, Making a Living, Writing Advice and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to New Editions of Writing for the Educational Market!

  1. Michelle Andersen says:

    I recently ordered the original and find it quite helpful. Thank you for asking Amazon to allow us to update our older versions for free. That’s very kind of you! Fingers crossed all goes well. I really appreciate all you do for the writing community.

Leave a Reply

