Some Days I’d Like to Stay in Bed

Today is one of them.

To be a working children’s writer, to make a career of it, you work a lot. Even when you don’t feel like it. Usually, I feel like it, but today…not so much.

My dad is in the hospital in Florida. He’s expected to go home today, but…my mom was also expected to go home within a day or two when she died in a hospital last July.

I’m not feeling great, physically. Upset stomach over the weekend and feeling drained. It’s like my overseas travel aftermath has just kicked in–and kicked my butt.

My critique group meets today (yay), but I have nothing prepared to bring (boo).

I need a haircut, but no time for that today.

I have 113 emails in my inbox that require action of some kind–reading I need to do, responding to illustrator sketches, answering questions about a revision, etc. And most have been waiting several days already and need to be taken care of today.

Amy Krouse Rosenthal (do you know her book I WISH YOU MORE or any of her other amazing books for kids?) died yesterday.

The overnight breakfast casserole I made smells quite unappealing.

I feel behind in everything. Every. Thing.

I love what I do. Most days I dive in with enthusiasm.

Today, I’m just trying to tread water. (But I’m sure tomorrow will be better.)


About Laura Purdie Salas

children's writer, poet, reader, visiting author, speaker/teacher, mentor, copyeditor, freelance writer
This entry was posted in Networking. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Some Days I’d Like to Stay in Bed

  1. kathalsey says:

    Big hugs to you today, Laura. May some things get done and prayers for your father.

  2. Hugs to you, Laura! Sending good thoughts for your health and your dad’s. It’s hard to be creative when you do not feel well and have concerns about loved ones. Health will return, spring will come, and your wonderful creative work will sing again. Til then, we’re here with you!

  3. Laura, it’s good to know you’re human. Take a deep breath. Make a to-do list and cross things off, but remember that it might take longer than a day. The visual always helps me feel productive. Hugs!

  4. Angie says:

    You definitely have your plate full! Prayers for your father and for your day!

  5. Thinking of you, Laurie. The full plate can wait….take care of self right now.

  6. Hang in there and be kind to yourself!

  7. You must be feeling something a little like PTSD with your dad in the hospital. Keep us posted. I’m sure all your readers will want to know he got out of the hospital safe and secure.

  8. Cindyb says:

    I’m sorry, Laura. Daylight savings time probably didn’t help much, either. Take a deep breath, (and maybe a nap) and then start marking things off your list.

  9. ldk says:

    Laura, so sorry to hear about your dad AND that you are not feeling well. It’s has to hard to think straight with all you have going on. Sunday night, we had a beautiful full moon. I thought of you and your lovely new book. You are so kind to everyone else, be sure to be kind to yourself too. xo

  10. Thank you, all of you, for your generous and lovely thoughts. They help, and I am feeling pretty good about today. You are fabulous.

  11. πŸ’žπŸŒˆβ˜€οΈ
    Sunshine and rainbows to you…been through the crapper too and some days really suck but I made a promise to be brace and be strong…πŸ˜₯So I keep writing on!
    ((Hugs))πŸ––πŸ»

Leave a Reply

