My ABA Signing at Winter Institute 12

me-and-miranda-at-aba_moon-dress

Me with Miranda Paul

Saturday evening’s signing at the American Booksellers Association conference was awesome. I shared a table with Josh Funk, who I know online but not in person. And Miranda Paul came by!

And I signed and Lerner gave away 100+ copies of If You Were the Moon. Jill Braithwaite chatted up booksellers, many of whom she had pitched Moon to that very afternoon. At a publishers’ speed dating kind of event, she got 15 minutes at each table of booksellers. Each pub could use their time however it deemed best. Jill pitched (that means she described it and tried to get them excited about stocking it at their book shops) 8 Lerner books–4 picture books and 4 older books. Moon was one of the picture books, and a number of booksellers mentioned what a great job she did and how they couldn’t wait to see Moon after her description of it.

As each bookseller approached, she introduced me, and then she would say things like Laura is the best writer doing a mix of science and poetry right now. Things I would never ever say or necessarily think. But she did it so enthusiastically and naturally. Livy from Lerner was also there offering support and doing awesome things. They were a great team. I know Jill from way back–she assigned me my very first children’s book (not published first, but written first) eons ago.  While signing, I met lots of wonderful booksellers from all over the country (and quite a few from Minnesota). I got to sign copies to people named Luna and Skye, and I got to meet one bookseller with a moon obsession–beautiful necklace, ring, and a big moon tattoo!

I was bummed that it was so busy I hardly got to chat with Josh, who was giving away Lady Pancake and Sir French Toast plus a BLAD (basic layout and design, I think? sort of like an incomplete F&G or galley, because it wasn’t the entire book) for its sequel, The Case of the Stinky Stench. We were both signing and chatting and signing and chatting with booksellers. But it was great to meet him in person anyway.

All in all, a really terrific event. I’m so grateful Lerner invited me to do this. In a big room of about 85 authors signing, only 4 or 5 of us were signing children’s books. I’m thrilled that this gave so many booksellers a chance to see Moon!

About Laura Purdie Salas

children's writer, poet, reader, visiting author, speaker/teacher, mentor, copyeditor, freelance writer
This entry was posted in Laura's Writing Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My ABA Signing at Winter Institute 12

  1. Wow what an amazing opportunity! Thanks for the description – I almost felt like I was there!! Can’t wait to read Moon!

  2. Angie says:

    Wonderful! Such an exciting time. Happy for you!

Leave a Reply

