Book Marketing and My First (In Real Life) Book Launch Party Ever

If You Were the Moon comes out in about 6 weeks (aaack!), so I’m in the middle of my marketing efforts. With my first book, Stampede (which went OOP after selling around 2,000 copies), I tried everything. Now I know what sort of works for me and what I can handle–and who my audience is. So, here’s what I’m doing for Moon:

  • page on my website, of course
  • book trailer (hope to finish this week)
  • teaching guide
  • one-page shortie teaching guide (need to do)
  • add to my various bookmarks and rack cards next time I order
  • have one physical promo piece (postcard or bookmark) I can hand to people–Lerner made a bookmark and is sending me some
  • sending out some F&Gs to interested bloggers–first time I’m doing this
  • book launch party–this will be my first one ever. As an introvert, I am uncertain about this but grateful to Family Fun Twin Cities!

I can share more about these pieces of my plan in the coming weeks–let me know your questions below!

About Laura Purdie Salas

children's writer, poet, reader, visiting author, speaker/teacher, mentor, copyeditor, freelance writer
This entry was posted in Networking. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Book Marketing and My First (In Real Life) Book Launch Party Ever

  1. Great ideas, Laura! Thank you for sharing. Good luck!

  2. I look forward to following your process and getting ideas for my book launch! Good luck!! Can’t wait to read If You Were the Moon!

  3. Angie says:

    Great ideas! What is F&G’s? Congratulations! Can’t wait to see the completed book trailer…

  4. jheitman22 says:

    The book launch party sounds like a blast! And the rest of your plan is very solid. Thanks for sharing. Here’s hoping your book launches like a rocket!

  5. Thanks for all the good wishes:>)

  6. Good luck, Laura. Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

