One More Realization from my Writing Goals Review

5. I need to streamline things more and really invest 100% in fewer things.

That one is kind of painful. I always want to do more, more, more. But I thrive on systems. I get better with regular practice. I want to be excellent at what I do. I feel like it’s better to do a few things excellently than many things half-a*!ed. But it’s still really hard to figure out which creative endeavors I need to just let go of…for now, anyway. Back to thinking.

About Laura Purdie Salas

children's writer, poet, reader, visiting author, speaker/teacher, mentor, copyeditor, freelance writer
This entry was posted in Networking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One More Realization from my Writing Goals Review

  1. Micki Ginsberg says:

    Yes, I very much agree! So many fascinating things to pick and choose from. And yet, to flower, we need to focus. Can you tell me a bit about your mentoring work?

    • Hi Micki–Lisa Bullard and I (both longtime working children’s writers) offer critiquing and writer coaching on an hourly basis through Mentors for Rent. You can read more about it at http://www.mentorsforrent.com to see if it might be something you’d be interested in. Thanks for asking. Love the flower analogy, because it reminds me of how overcrowding ruins a garden with too many plants and not enough sun, soil, etc.

Leave a Reply

