Name Yourself

Happy first day of autumn, writers!

Many years ago, my husband got me a mug that said POET on it in bold letters. I loved that mug (and used it until I wore it out). When people give us something that names us as what we want to be, it reinforces that identity in ourselves. I used to save every cool nametag from every event that said “Author” or “Featured Speaker” or whatever. It was like proof I could show myself that, yes, I really was a writer.

I wish I had realized the power of naming earlier. I would have made myself a big nametag or sign to put right over my work space that announced to me that I was a writer. Do you have something tangible, something physical, that reminds you that you are a writer? If not, maybe you can make or buy something this weekend. Would love to see pictures if you have them.

 

 

Save

About Laura Purdie Salas

children's writer, poet, reader, visiting author, speaker/teacher, mentor, copyeditor, freelance writer
This entry was posted in Networking and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Name Yourself

  1. ldk says:

    I’ve admired mugs that say Writer or Poet, but I haven’t had the confidence to think of myself in that way yet. I feel that I haven’t yet earned that title. Maybe I’ll buy one of those mugs, put in on my desk, and see what happens. : )

  2. margaretsmn says:

    I went to my first SCBWI meeting last year and was asked in the elevator if I was an author or an illustrator. Felt pretty cool to say, “author.”

  3. I refuse to take a picture of my kitchen table, the thing that shows that I’m a writer. But I do have a mug from one of the writing groups I belong to, the Write On Mamas. One side of the mug displays the logo, the other side says “Truth, Wit & Grit.” Perfect for a writer who’s also a mom. 😀

Leave a Reply

