Laura’s Writing Life: Fastest Contract Ever!

File:Saint Peter Church (Upper Sandusky, Ohio) - stained glass, Tempus Fugit - Time Flies.jpg

Photo of Time Flies from Wikimedia Commons. Click image for more information.

I have shared before, I think, thoughts and examples of the long, slow process that is trade picture book publishing. So I’ll also share this happy bit.

On JUNE 30, I sent my editor at Boyds Mills Press/Wordsong, an email that began: “Let me start with this: I know we have several projects in progress already, and I’ve been holding off on sending you this. If you don’t want to take a look at it, I completely understand! You can stop right here and no hard feelings at all.”

It’s not really acceptable to submit something, generally, to an editor who already has another ms of yours that she’s considering. But I love working with her and felt she’d be just the right editor for this particular poetry collection. Luckily, she liked the sample poems I sent in that email and requested the complete manuscript the same day (JUNE 30). I sent it the next day, JULY 1.

THAT SAME DAY (JULY 1), she emailed back that she loved the collection and would take it to acquisions!

JULY 18, she emailed me an offer.

By AUGUST 3, the contract negotiations (between my literary attorney, Aimee Bissonette, me, and Boyds Mills Press) were complete.

By AUGUST 20, I had the contract in hand to sign. I signed and returned it.

By SEPTEMBER 7, I had the counter-signed, fully executed contract in my hand, with a check attached for the first half of my advance.

My head is spinning, because this is the fastest this whole process has ever gone. It’s like the stars aligned and everything just went perfectly. So, I guess 10 weeks for a query to a signed contract is a possibility! Who would’ve thought?

Once the announcement of the sale is made public, I’ll share more details with y’all. But I just had to share this Cinderella acceptance story, since Lord knows I share plenty of the Ugly Stepsister stories with you:>)

Waving a magic wand and hoping for some Cinderellas for you guys, too!

 

 

About Laura Purdie Salas

children's writer, poet, reader, visiting author, speaker/teacher, mentor, copyeditor, freelance writer
This entry was posted in Getting Published, Laura's Writing Life, Writers in the World and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Laura’s Writing Life: Fastest Contract Ever!

  1. Cindyb says:

    How wonderful! Sounds just like what happened to me- in my dreams!!

  2. It is wonderful when the stars align. Happy for you and inspired to work harder. 😉

  3. Pat Bauer says:

    That makes me smile . . . how wonderful! And more of your fabulous poetry will be out where others can read it!

  4. ldk says:

    Congratulations, Laura! I can’t wait to hear more about it.

Leave a Reply

