An Illustrator! A Pub Date!

NIGHT_webI’m so excited! My poetry collection picture book I’m just calling NIGHT for the moment has a pub date! It will be a Spring 2019 title with Wordsong. I have wanted to publish a book with them for so long. Whee! The illustrator (I think but am not positive I can name her now, so I’ll hold off just a little bit longer) has signed on. Her sketches will come in in January of 2017, with final art coming in January of 2018. And that puts it on the Spring 2019 list. In case you don’t already know, final art is usually finished at least a year before pub date, because there has to be time to design the book, print ARCs (Advance Reader Copies) or F&Gs (Folded & Gathereds–printed but unbound picture books, basically), send them out to all the review journals, and then print and get the book into actual distribution.

This collection was acquired in 2013, and now it’s going to be in the hands of an illustrator, making progress on its journey to the world. I’m so pleased!

And now, since it will be ages before I’m very involved with it again, I will pretty much try to forget about it and focus on other works in progress. Such is the life of a picture book writer.

Other quick updates: Final art is coming in very shortly on IF YOU WERE THE MOON, which is a spring 2017 title (Millbrook). Can’t wait to see Jaime Kim’s lovely final work. I typed in “if you were the moon salas” in Amazon to see if it was listed there yet (no), and Amazon decided I was looking for “if you were the moon salad.” I think I feel a surreal poem coming on. :>)

Happy Friday, everyone!

About Laura Purdie Salas

children's writer, poet, reader, visiting author, speaker/teacher, mentor, copyeditor, freelance writer
This entry was posted in Laura's Writing Life, Writers in the World and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to An Illustrator! A Pub Date!

  1. ldk says:

    I’m so excited for you, Laura! I can’t wait to add your new books to my collection!

  2. Cindyb says:

    Very exciting- Congratulations!

  3. Wow! Congrats!!!!! Sounds absolutely lovely.

  4. Wow wow wow! Quite sobering, but it must be so thrilling! Congrats!

  5. Tina Cho says:

    Great things are happening for you! Congrats! How funny as you say that you try to forget about the one scheduled in 2019…

    • I know. Isn’t that weird? But I have other books coming out in 2017 and 2018, and I need to write and market more books for beyond 2019. So there’s always something else to concentrate on, that’s for sure. Thanks, Tina!

  6. Fantastic news!!! Also instructive as to the time line involved from acceptance to publication. Congrats!!!

Leave a Reply

