Messy Space, Messy Mind

This will be quick, because my brain is distracted! You know why? Because both my real home and my online home are complete and utter messes.

Just so you know I'm not making this stuff up!

Just so you know I’m not making this stuff up!

My husband and I are hoping to sell our house in the spring and move to a townhome. (Yay! We hate home maintenance and are terrible upkeepers.) In order to “stage” our home nicely–which is kind of funny because we’re also bad decorators, so the house is never going to look lovely, but I digress–we have to get some office furniture out of the office. That’s because the office is officially the living room. Ahem. Anyway, we have gotten rid of two huge desks and three floor to ceiling Ikea storage units (which I loved and am sad to see go). And all the junk that was in those 5 large pieces of furniture is now spread throughout the top floor like a horrible confetti. Every piece has to be gone through…OK, I’m hyperventilating, so I’ll stop there. Suffice it to say that our house is a mess.

IMG_4337

And this is after many hours of sorting, etc.

And, I have a new website. I hate to mention it because I really don’t want you rushing over there. I have a lovely new design (and when I’ve got the content in better shape, I’ll talk about the wonderful designer), but I’ve got 7+ years’ worth of blog posts and content to sort of, get rid of, streamline, categorize and tag, etc. And literally thousands of images to go through. In short, my online home is as disorganized as my physical home.

It’s disconcerting, to say the least. I can write almost anywhere as far as noise and chaos–provided it’s not MY chaos. You know what I mean? Baseball game? I can write. Orchestra concert? I’m poeming in the audience. Coffee shop with a wailing baby nearby? I’ve got my earbuds in, and I’m writing away. But that’s a whole different thing from knowing my own stuff is not organized and in its best shape.

So. For the next couple of months, a lot of my time will be spent trying to tidy up the disasters. I’ll keep up with copyediting jobs, Mentors for Rent work, and a couple of collaborations and revisions for editors that I’m working on, but I suspect I won’t be creating much new material. My brain’s fuses feel blown. And I won’t get to read as much, because there just won’t be much downtime. But, I hope, when I’m finished, it will all be worth it.

It will be worth it, right?

About Laura Purdie Salas

children's writer, poet, reader, visiting author, speaker/teacher, mentor, copyeditor, freelance writer
This entry was posted in Laura's Writing Life and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Messy Space, Messy Mind

  1. Linda Trout says:

    Laura, we had a HUGE house with a view we absolutely loved, but we were spending so much time (and money) on maintenance that we really couldn’t enjoy it. Our children are grown and on their own so we had several rooms we didn’t even use anymore. So, three years ago, we sold it and moved to a single family condo. It was very freeing to clean out years of clutter (and we realized we were hoarders)! Moving is a drag, however getting to choose colors and design for a new home was a lot of fun. We really like our new place and the fresh start felt great! The biggest problem we have now is that we have a very long commute to work, but homes are cheaper up here and our mortgage is less than half of what it was. Once you’ve settled into your new home, I think you’ll really like not having yard work or home repairs. We sure do! Good luck to you and Randy!

  2. Thanks for the encouragement, Linda! Wow–sounds like the trade-off was great for you! We will be moving to a smaller place (in order to be in the location we want, have a shorter mortgage, and…we really just don’t need the # of rooms we have), so going through and getting rid of so much stuff is a HUGE project. But it feels good to be filling bag after bag with TRASH, DONATE, RECYCLE, etc. on it:>) But it’s going to be a long, busy year!

Leave a Reply

