There’s a Reason I’m Not an Illustrator

Maybe you’ve seen the posts. Children’s book authors and illustrators create gorgeous art pieces, cupcakes, diamond tiaras (OK, I made that last one up) to say thank you to editors, librarians, and readers. I confess that I wanted to be one of those people who made something really cool.

I should have known better.

I started off with the idea of doodling on rocks. Since my newest book is, you know, A Rock Can Be…. I discovered it wasn’t as easy as it looks on Pinterest. I do some Zentangling, and I thought that Sharpie-ing some very cool doodles on rocks would be super-nifty. Or, I thought, what if I instead did something like “Librarians Rock” on large rocks for paperweights, and I gave them as thank yous when I had appearances at bookstores or libraries or schools. I was off and running.

Booksellers RockI had an event at the awesome Red Balloon Bookshop in St. Paul in April, so I was making this paperweight. Cute, right? I thought so. But then the paint pen stuff started to scratch right off.

I did a second one and tried to seal it. But when I painted on the sealant, it ate away at the paint pen. And the (fantastic) event was that night.

Sigh.

 

I tried a bunch more, but they were pretty… eh.

Writing on Rocks Eh... Rock

 

 

 

 

 

And I kept having little disasters, like:

Failed Rock

Oops. Some paperweights did have some survive the process, and I gave those away as thank yous to librarians at 5 or 6 library visits in April. But mostly, the idea ended up being a big flop.

Folks do a lot of work when they invite me to speak, publicize the event, prep the space, etc. I’m still trying to think of a little thank you that is personal, but that I can make without being Van Gogh (I’d like to keep both ears, thank you very much) or spending all my writing time elbow-deep in sealants, acting out Edvard Munch’s The Scream.

I’ll keep you posted:>)

About Laura Purdie Salas

children's writer, poet, reader, visiting author, speaker/teacher, mentor, copyeditor, freelance writer
This entry was posted in Laura's Writing Life, Writers in the World. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

