Writers in the World: Happy Dancing!

Fan letterHere’s what I have to say about the writing life this week: Sometimes it’s really hard. Sometimes you get crappy reviews and rejected manuscripts and not nearly enough money to pay your bills.

And other times you get something that makes all of those things worth it–which is what I got this week, just as the paperback edition of Turn Left at the Cow came out (May 5th). On May 8th, I received a lovely note from a mom telling me that it is her son’s favorite book–and providing this proof, in the form of a copy of his homework assignment. J.R.R. Tolkien, you may have a cult following of bazillions, but there’s a 10-year-old in Alabama who thinks I out-write you!

About Lisa Bullard

children's book writer, book promoter, writing teacher, writer in the schools, mentor, author of Get Started in Writing for Children
This entry was posted in Lisa's Writing Life, Writers in the World and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writers in the World: Happy Dancing!

  1. Aw, this is the best, Lisa! Congratulations on the paperback AND this fantastic note. Wheee!

    • Lisa Bullard says:

      Thanks, Laura! I treasure notes like this for obvious reasons–but also because they are an important reminder of the #1 reason I want to write for kids: I want to make an impact on young lives! So it does make all the tough stuff worth it!

  2. See? For every book, its readers! 🙂 Congrats

    • Lisa Bullard says:

      Thanks so much, Jane! Yes, it is actually sometimes helpful for me to picture one specific reader as I write–to keep him/her in front of me as my targeted reader, and to measure my story against whether I think it will work for him/her.

Leave a Reply

