Networking Tip: Be brave!

I have a confession to make. Most of the people I know casually, people I see on a weekly basis or more, don’t know I’m a children’s writer. All those folks I say hi to at the gym, many of who I chat with before and after class. All those library staff I zip by on my way to the reserve shelf to pick up my books. All those bakery workers who know my usual (ack!). They have no idea what my passion is: writing children’s books.

Final version!

My WATER CAN BE… bookmarks

Why? Because I don’t want to be pushy and sound like I’m constantly trying to sell my books to people. The only people who know are the people who come right out and ask, “What do you do?” So, what’s the solution to this? Good question. I’m going to try three things to get better at this.

  1. Vow to tell at least one new person per week that I’m a children’s writer.
  2. Carry a beautiful giveaway item (like a great bookmark) featuring one of my books so that I can hand people something tangible.
  3. Make even more awesome objects that feature my books and try to carry them more publicly. A cute workout tank with art from one of my books, a scarf featuring a poem I wrote, a notebook with my bookcover on it.  My husband has always been great about giving me gifts like this (if you’ve known me long,

    My laptop skin from Randy, featuring art from A LEAF CAN BE…

    you’ve seen pics of the laptop and phone skins, the tops, the messenger bags, etc.). But many of them I tend to save for speaking events, “official” writer events. But those folks already know I’m a writer! So I’m going to try to make a few more things–casual jewelry, notebooks, things like that–that I can carry around or wear on an everyday basis. Good conversation starters that might make it easier for me to share what I do.

What about you? How do you let people know what you do without being pushy?

About Laura Purdie Salas

children's writer, poet, reader, visiting author, speaker/teacher, mentor, copyeditor, freelance writer
This entry was posted in Networking. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Networking Tip: Be brave!

  1. Pingback: Networking Tip: Laura’s Networking Goals for 2015 | Mentors for Rent

Comments are closed.