Writers in the World: Focusing on the Good

So, it’s the time of year when I review, analyze, dream, and plan. I love doing this, even though sometimes the facts staring me in the face aren’t all that pleasant. For instance, when I looked at my Writing Dreams for 2014 (things I had no control over but that I was hoping might happen anyway), I saw that…

Bummer.

But then I looked at the good things that have been happening.

WATER CAN BE… got two starred reviews earlier this year (my first stars ever!).

WATER CAN BE… just won a Nerdy Book Award for Poetry–yay!

A ROCK CAN BE… comes out in March.

I have a poem coming out in a charming, wonderful Lee Bennett Hopkins anthology, Lullaby and Kisses Sweet: Poems to Love with Your Baby.

I also placed two poems in a J. Patrick Lewis anthology, one in a Kenn Nesbitt anthology, two in a Poetry Friday Anthology, and two in a professional book for educators by Terrell Young.

Other lovely things happened in 2014–speaking opportunities, school visits, travel… And other non-lovely things happened–difficult revisions (in fact, I’m embroiled in one of those right now), rejections, agent changes, etc.

Sometimes it’s easy to think that writers with books out and awards have a career that’s all smooth sailing. That’s not true. But what is true is that there’s no journey I’d rather take, even when the seas are rough. It’s all about being realistic, preparing for your trip, working hard to do it right, and hunkering down during storms.

I hope you’ve had a chance to evaluate last year and plan for this year, too!

About Laura Purdie Salas

children's writer, poet, reader, visiting author, speaker/teacher, mentor, copyeditor, freelance writer
This entry was posted in Laura's Writing Life, Writers in the World. Bookmark the permalink.