Networking Tip: Set Goals

Because I’m an introvert and rather socially awkward, I find it helpful to set really concrete goals before various events. For instance, here are some goals I set a couple of years ago for a national convention for teachers. I was going to be speaking, signing books, and also seeing my publisher, and I had some questions to ask and promo items to hand out. I make my goals as specific as possible. If I take 100 school visit handouts, my goal is to hand out all 100. Or my goal at a social gathering might be to simply introduce myself to 5 new people. Or to give out 20 of my business cards.  Or to make myself go up to some specific people I’ve met before and say to them, “You might not remember me, but I’m Laura Purdie Salas, and we met at” XYZ whatever. Brainstorm a list of 2-5 goals before each event you attend. Make your goals attainable, but make sure they push you a LITTLE BIT beyond your comfort zone. You’ll feel a real sense of accomplishment afterward. And, if you’re a list-keeper like me, crossing off those to-dos as DONE will help motivate you, too!

About Laura Purdie Salas

children's writer, poet, reader, visiting author, speaker/teacher, mentor, copyeditor, freelance writer
This entry was posted in Networking. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Networking Tip: Set Goals

  1. Laura, I can’t imagine anyone not remembering you. This is, however, very good advice. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

