Writers in the World: Laura

Well, it’s been just a bit crazy here at the Salas household lately. Kidney stone surgery for my husband, holiday festivities, loads of freelance copyediting (which is great–gotta pay the bills), and more. Oh, yeah…and NCTE!

The Gaylord Convention Center

The Gaylord Convention Center

I went to the annual convention for the National Council of Teachers of English, which was held this year in the Washington, DC, area. I had a blast–it was a whirlwind of meetings, meals, sessions, events, and laughter.

Tricia Stohr-Hunt (in red) and Linda Kulp Trout at the Lerner signing

Tricia Stohr-Hunt (in red) and Linda Kulp Trout at the Lerner signing

I got to have dinner with my fabulous Wordsong/Boyds Mills Press editor, along with other wonderful editors/staff there and a zillion fabulous children’s poets (ok, 20 or so). I did a signing of A ROCK CAN BE… and had lunch with my wonderful Millbrook/Lerner editor. I chatted with a Charlesbridge editor who took one of my poetry collections to acquisitions but wasn’t able to acquire it and pitched a couple of manuscripts to her.

Catherine Flynn and Laura Purdie Salas

Catherine Flynn and Laura Purdie Salas

Other highlights included attending sessions, connecting with passionate educators who love books and words and poetry, and hanging out with my ever-growing poetry tribe.

(clockwise from top) Catherine Flynn, Heidi Mordhorst, Mary Lee Hahn, Laura Purdie Salas, Tricia Stohr-Hunt (sacrificing her face for the group!)

(clockwise from top) Catherine Flynn, Heidi Mordhorst, Mary Lee Hahn, Laura Purdie Salas, Tricia Stohr-Hunt (sacrificing her face for the group!)

Today, I’m flying to Florida from Minnesota to visit family for the weekend. My mom’s cancer is back and I want to see her before treatment really starts taking its toll again. I’ll be using the energy and good memories from my NCTE trip to keep my spirits up:>)

About Laura Purdie Salas

children's writer, poet, reader, visiting author, speaker/teacher, mentor, copyeditor, freelance writer
This entry was posted in Laura's Writing Life, Writers in the World. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writers in the World: Laura

  1. Hope you have a wonderful weekend with your family, and that your mom’s treatments go well.

Leave a Reply

